The Assignment

I decided to do Image with a Message as my second ds106 assignment for the semester. The reason that I chose this assignment  is that I thought  it would be fun to do.  The assignment read: It is said that “a picture is worth a thousand words”. Your challenge is to enhance a famous quotation by superimposing it on an appropriate “Creative Commons” licensed image and to give proper credit.

The Process

First, I went to Flickr   to get the photograph of alice in wonder land. I decided to use the one of photos which Alice is holding the little bottle labeled “DRINK ME”.  After I got  the picture, I went to Adobe Photoshop cs3. (I know that this software is so expensive!! but my father has it….. so I asked him if I can use it to do ds106 assignment! ) In Adobe Photoshop cs3, I pasted the photo which I took from Flickr. Then I pasted the Martin Luther Ling Jr’s quote which is” You don’t have to see the whole staircase. Just take the first step”  I changed the color of text from black to red because the lighter text would be more visible.

The Story

Since the story of Alice in Wonderland is very famous, I guess most classmates of CIS know the story. . After Alice follows a rabbit, she suddenly falls a long way to a curious hall with many locked doors of all sizes. She finds a small key to a door too small for her to fit through, but through which she sees an attractive garden. She then discovers a bottle on a table labelled “DRINK ME”, the contents of which cause her to shrink too small to reach the key which she has left on the table. After this event, she  met a lot of  strange animals and peoples such as caterpillar smoking a hookah, queen of Harts, March Hare and Hatter. Although she is devastated by many difficulties in the story, she always try to do something, and overcome the difficulties. I thought that the quote by Martin Luther King Jr matchs this picture which I found on Flickr.

Image: Alice in Wonderland by jackieleigh – CC Licensed via Flickr

